Gouda Buddha Books

Devouring books since 2009.

Books I Have Been Too Lazy To Review

with one comment

Readers, I’m a slacker and have several drafts of reviews that have been in draft form for quite some time.  So I’m going to post a few of them together and start with only the mostly completed books to review individually.

The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood.  I started reading this book and realized I perhaps should have reread Oryx and CrakeThe Year of the Flood is the prequel to Atwood’s previous novel, and I was having a bit of trouble remembering just what had and had not been explained in it.  But as I’m short on patience, I didn’t want to take the time to do so, and I persevered.  At some point, I’ll reread them both close together, and I think that I’ll get more out of them both, but I still really appreciated Year of the Flood even with this gap of memory.  It takes time to flesh out, but is well worth it, and as always, Atwood’s writing is captivating.  I didn’t get around to reviewing it because I found it nearly impossible to sum up the plot or my emotions to it.  Suffice to say, Atwood stirred quite a bit of thought for me.

::

I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley.  I read the first essay in this book in my friend’s guest room in September of 2009, and the story of her collection of My Little Pony horses from various suitors stayed with me.  Eventually, I had to track down my own copy of this book because I wanted more of Sloane Crosley’s witty, self-deprecating essays that I could almost identify with (sometimes more so than others), and after reading it through, there was only one essay I really didn’t like.  Apparently Sloane Crosley is a big deal because of her publicist day job for Joan Didion among others (whom I’m also reading now), but I didn’t realize this at the time.  As such, people resent her shortcuts in much the same way people resent Jonathan Safran Foer for being discovered by Joyce Carol Oates.  C’est la vie.  I’m bitter because I don’t have fancy friends too, but if I did, I sure as hell wouldn’t blink before agreeing to have my work published, with the thought being if it is any good, it will stand on its own.  And so I Was Told There’d Be Cake does.  I’ve put my copy in my guest room now, and I’m excited for Crosley’s new book of essays on traveling, How Did You Get This Number,  which will be released in just a few weeks.  Perfect vacation reading.

Written by questionsandanchors

June 9, 2010 at 2:34 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What an amazing friend to have that in her guest room? 😉 Hehehe… could I coax you into another visit this year? Nathan is gone July-Oct and I am a stay-at-home wife now! 🙂

    Erin

    June 23, 2010 at 7:47 pm


Leave a Reply

