Gouda Buddha Books

Devouring books since 2009.

The Supreme Court: The Personalities and Rivalries that Defined America.

leave a comment »

The Supreme Court has always fascinated me. For awhile I thought about law school with the end goal of eventually being a judge.  But hey, I decided I would never be the kind of lawyer who would make money, and also, I might like to buy a house someday or do something that required me to not have so much student loan debt, and lo, I did not.  Instead, I am a lowly admin assistant, but I do not (yet) have heart problems.

So for someone like me, The Supreme Court: The Personalities and Rivalies That Defined America was great.  Four chapters, 8 men, and totally written for someone interested in SCOTUS (geek!), but not a lawyer.  I’d definitely recommend this book and this writer.  It put some of the central decisions into a larger political and historical context and presented the results of each man’s (not justice, as one was Thomas Jefferson) actions in relation to what he wished to happen, instead of a good/bad perspective, which I appreciated.  I might not approve of Person X’s decisions, or they might clearly have appeared to me as wrong, but that’s not the point of the argument; the point is how his personality affected whether he achieved his goal, and how it ultimately affected the country.  It was with this exact reasoning that some of Justice Scalia’s actions made sense to me.

And that’s a true recommendation.

P.S. As I attended a lecture by Justice Scalia while at my alma mater, I actually do have things I have heard him say that I disagree with versus just being opposed to votes or dissents.  This may or may not matter, but I thought it might be relevant.

P.P.S. I also majored in journalism, and so some of those things said were related to that profession.

Written by questionsandanchors

January 5, 2010 at 4:05 am

Leave a Reply

