Gouda Buddha Books

Devouring books since 2009.

Everything is Illuminated.

with 2 comments

I finished Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer more than a week ago and have simply been a slacker on posting about it.  This, friends, is ridiculous because now it means I have not as much to say on it and no patience to write about it.  Suffice to say, great exercise is writing and effectively forcing native English speakers to translate their own language in their head with narrator Alex’s writing.  Good dual stories, but weak ending.  Still, for a first novel, I was pretty impressed, and I would recommend the book.  I would not recommend a car ride with Sammy Davis Junior Junior.

Written by questionsandanchors

August 17, 2009 at 7:26 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude, I effin’ hated this book. With a serious passion. Loved Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close though.

    Sonja

    August 19, 2009 at 1:14 pm

  2. Really? I thought this book was pretty good. I laughed, and read various parts aloud to Matt. I thought the ending was a big letdown because it didn’t seem like he knew how to end it, and I also thought the back/forth got a bit confusing and left the historical parts undeveloped, but I really liked the writing style.

    questionsandanchors

    August 21, 2009 at 3:50 pm


Leave a Reply

