Gouda Buddha Books

Devouring books since 2009.

Dead Until Dark.

leave a comment »

dead-until-darkOh, man, have I gotten into “True Blood” in a big way.  And I mean a I’ve-always-loved-Anna-Paquin-and now-she’s-dating-a-hot-Brit-with-fangs kind of way.  I’ve almost ordered HBO at least three times because it is driving me crazy that there are new episodes out that I can’t watch.  So when I was in the kick-ass mystery bookstore and my partner found the book it was based on, you could just about see the exclamation point above my head as I said, “Zoinks!”

So I bought myself a trade paperback of Dead Until Dark, the first Sookie Stackhouse book, and sat down to enjoy a combination of Nora Roberts meets a non-Mormon teeny-bopper Twilight meets a murder mystery.  It was slow to get started and find its groove, but by about halfway through Charlaine Harris had everything under control and Sookie & Bill were enjoying hot vampire lovin’ in spite of all the murders.

The biggest problem I came across is that I haven’t finished Season One yet, and so I was finding out things in this book that had not yet been revealed on the show.  This upset previously referenced partner who turned to Wikipedia so that he would not be left out.  And even though I’ve got two episodes left, I had to finish the book because I was forgetting what had happened and what the differences between it and the TV series were.

All in all? Juicy guilty pleasure, and I’ll read more of this series.  Great lit this is not by any means – and let no one say that I am pretending this book is more than sex on the page- but I can dig an author who has Elvis in her book as a vampire who likes kittens.  In the meantime, I’m counting my lucky stars that Alan Ball, who Sonika and I have previously drooled over with regard to his work on “Six Feet Under”, has gotten his hands on the rights to this book, kept all the good ideas, and developed it into something with more depth, intrigue and Louisiana voodoo.

And now, because I’m just that smitten, I’ll leave you with a photo of Sookie & Bill, aka Anna Paquin and Stephen Moyer. Or maybe two or three.  It’s a Monday after all, and I need something to get me through until the final disc of Season One arrives via Netflix.

Yum.  And look how timely I am: the NYT has an article today about “True Blood” has revived HBO.

Written by questionsandanchors

July 13, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

