Gouda Buddha Books

Devouring books since 2009.

Watchmen.

leave a comment »

472331Yes, nerd in the checkout at Borders, I did read the “comic book” (and the proper nomenclature is “graphic novel” to you, fine sir) before watching the movie. And how did you know I had seen the movie already? Are you a creepy stalker, because I’m not accepting applications for that position at this time. Anyhooo. 

So, I saw the movie this weekend and then went and bought the book and re-read it. 

First, let me say that I LOVED THE EVERLIVING HELL out of that movie. SHUT IT, HATERZ. I’m totally in love with Dr. Manhattan. He’s blue and he talks about quantum physics. Sexy as hell. Seriously. I thought that the movie was amazing and beautifully done and well, awesome in every way. 

I feel the very same way about the book. Yes, I know that the movie diverges wildly (especially with the ending) from the book. Yes, I know that the movie leaves out plot lines contained in the book. No, I don’t care. Do you want to know why I don’t care? BECAUSE IT’S A MOVIE. I want to see a movie, I see the movie. I want to read the book, guess what? I read the book. If I wanted to read the book, I WOULDN’T see the movie. 

It sticks in my craw when purists try to insist that movie adaptations of books remain true to the letter. 

I don’t get why Alan Moore wouldn’t allow his name to be connected to the movie – is it because they went down a different path to achieve a similar ending? I thought that the movie was true to the spirit of the book, even if it wasn’t necessarily a verbatim recitation of it. Granted, the book is a lot darker, but somehow that’s easier to swallow in a book. The movie is plenty dark as is, but we go to movies generally to be entertained, not to have our souls ripped from our chests. (Generally.) And like it our not, it’s a superhero movie. Yes, it’s bending the genre, but nerds of the world aside, the viewing public is NOT ready for a SUPERHERO movie that rips your soul from your chest. Just not happening. 

Maybe the sequel –Watchmen 2: Electric Bugaloo – will be able to piss off everyone. In the meantime, there are a few people who still like this one, and I’m one of ’em. I won’t say that the book is “better,” I’ll just say that the book is 100% awesome and leave it at that.

Written by Sonja

March 17, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Leave a Reply

