Gouda Buddha Books

Devouring books since 2009.

A Thousand Splendid Suns.

with one comment

thousandHey! I finished another book!

I read The Kite Runner last year and was thoroughly moved, and I’d heard that A Thousand Splendid Suns was equally good, so I picked it up shortly after it came out in paperback.

A Thousand Splendid Suns follows the upbringing of two women, Mariam and Laila, in Afghanistan.  Eventually, their lives are intertwined as they are both married to the same man, Rasheed. The book is quite a quick read because the story pulls you through.  There’s depth within it, but not much subtlety, unless you consider their quiet, everyday lives in the midst of a war-torn country.  Rather, the lives of these women are what they are, and there’s no need to hide the facts.

If I had to compare the two books, I would say that The Kite Runner pierces your heart, and A Thousand Splendid Suns just makes your entire chest ache.  And yet, I’m better for reading both of them.  I did feel as though the latter demonstrated the situation in Afghanistan over the past thirty years much more than The Kite Runner, especially in terms of how it affects those who cannot leave.

I also felt as though it did an excellent job at portraying how women are pitted against each other and held powerless in many situations, and yet when they bond with each other, their strength is remarkable.

P.S. I held this review for a day, as the husband said I had “mailed it in” on the writing, but now I’m tipsy after a meal with the in-laws, so you’re getting it as is.  The book is good.  I recommend it.  You’ll like it more if you like women than if you don’t.  If you don’t, well, please seek therapy and don’t tell me unless you’d like a verbal lashing. The end.

Written by questionsandanchors

March 11, 2009 at 3:49 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pffft, tell your husband that everyone gets to mail it in now and then. If he doesn’t like it, I know where he can get some ass-gel.

    Sonja

    March 11, 2009 at 10:58 pm


Leave a Reply

