Gouda Buddha Books

Devouring books since 2009.

The Little Prince, or Le Petit Prince.

with 3 comments

littleprincelSo last night, I did exactly what I said I was going to do and reread The Little Prince (alas, not in French, for I am not as cool as Sonika, but it is the copy that I bought while in France if that makes it better).  And maybe I’m off here, but I’m thinking that whenever people are tempted to reach for The Alchemist, they should grab The Little Prince instead.

The Little Prince has just as many life lessons, isn’t patronizing, and has better illustrations than The Alchemist.  The illustrations are so good in fact that I once knew of a person who got stars in the same style tattooed on her shoulder.  Rock.

Best lesson: be careful which of the grown-ups in this book you turn into, or better yet, try not to turn  into any of them.

Written by questionsandanchors

February 16, 2009 at 5:55 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. J’aime le petit prince!!

    I had to read it in French class my junior year of high school. I only really remember the snake who swallowed the hat, I should re-read it.

    redsonika

    February 17, 2009 at 2:13 am

  2. I found your blog!

    My mom used to read this to me, it was one of her millions of children’s books I wasn’t very interested in (princesses, please). She had all of these kid’s books, something about her being an elementary teacher until the day she found out she was pregnant with me. I’d like to mention that Pre AP World History confused me, as until recently I couldn’t understand why my mom would read to me from Machiavelli’s “The Prince.” Whoops!

    Brittany

    February 17, 2009 at 4:08 am

  3. I’m so glad you read it again. And you should definitely get a tattoo from the book like I did 🙂

    Kells Bells

    February 18, 2009 at 8:39 pm


Leave a Reply

