Gouda Buddha Books

Devouring books since 2009.

Frankenstein Makes A Sandwich

with one comment

frankensteinIf you don’t have an independent bookstore you visit, you’re probably missing out on a lot of smaller titles, and if you don’t have an independent children’s bookstore, well then, you’re probably sadder than my cat who believes she has never been fed.

Among the gems I’m betting you haven’t read is Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich by Adam Rex, a book I found last month while looking for a fun gift for my husband (eventually I settled on an illustrated copy of all the Beatles’ lyrics).  I couldn’t get it out of my mind, and ended up trekking back to Reading Reptile yesterday to buy it (water bills be damned!).

It’s fabulous, and I couldn’t stop smiling over the wonderful illustration and clever rhymes chronicling the dilemmas of Dracula, Bigfoot, the Invisible Man, and other monsters.  And just for my Sonika, I wanted to share an excerpt from “An Open Letter from Wolfman’s Best Friend”:

And since we’re complaining,

perhaps you’d explain

how you manage to leave

SO MUCH hair in the tub.

I constantly clean it.  I scour, I scrub

and I think I should mention

it’s REALLY a pain.

Today I removed a big clog from the drain,

and I tell you, this hair-clog was of SUCH A SIZE,

it could go to a CAT SHOW

AND TAKE HOME FIRST PRIZE.

Written by questionsandanchors

January 4, 2009 at 9:31 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I CLEAN THAT CLOG EVERY DAY.

    Sonja

    January 7, 2009 at 10:03 pm


Leave a Reply

